2019 American Craft Show in Baltimore Awards of Excellence

2019 American Craft Show in Baltimore Awards of Excellence

Baltimore Awards of Excellence, Tenisha Dotstry

Congratulations to all of our Award of Excellence recipients at the American Craft Show in Baltimore! Seen here are juror Sebastian Martorana and Hip Pop Emerging Artist Award winner Tenisha Dotstry.

Elizabeth Ryan

In true Baltimore fashion, with a joy-filled performance by The Band Marching Unit, we celebrated a tradition established at the start of the American Craft Shows. The Awards of Excellence recognize show artists working in a variety of ways.

From a pool of more than 550 incredibly talented makers, 10 were honored with awards in a variety of categories at our 2019 American Craft Show in Baltimore.

Awards were given to fiber artist Dianne Nordt (booth 3407), whose work celebrates deep roots and the tradition of material; to longtime show artist and furniture maker Derek Hennigar (booth 4200), who has spent his career exploring and perfecting new ideas; jewelers Sean and Lisa Reico (booth 235), who use sustainable and recycled materials to create stunning jewelry; and glass artists Michael and Misato Mortara (booth 818), whose work beautifully blends traditional and innovative glass processes.

Focusing both on work and booth presentation, jeweler Abra Gorby (booth 230A) stood out due to her incredible welcoming personality and gracious presence. In booth F2, Sheko Kirby and Sarkis Chouljian's super cool design and suave sales attitudes really made an impression.

Basketry artist and new ACC artist Tenisha Dotstry (booth 3801-5) won the Award of Excellence for an emerging artist as part of our Hip Pop program. Dotstry’s bound, fiber baskets show a fresh use of materials in gorgeously simple designs.

In addition to the ACC Awards of Excellence, we partner with three outstanding arts organizations that also offer awards of excellence. Congratulations to woodworker Holly Tornheim (booth 2109), the recipient of Collectors of Wood Art Award of Excellence in Wood Art;  jeweler So Young Park (booth 203), who received the James Renwick Alliance Award of Excellence for Innovation in Craft, and metalsmiths Gabriel Craig and Amy Weiks (booth 724) for the SNAG Award of Excellence in Jewelry and Metal.

Thanks to our wonderful partner organizations for their time and support of the Awards of Excellence and to our ACC Awards jurors: Leila Cartier, executive director of CraftNOW Philadelphia; Jason Tompkins, local Baltimore fashion designer and influencer; and stone-carver and Let’s Make partner, Sebastian Martorana.

Congratulations to all of our recipients!