Lois Moran Award for Craft Writing

Lois Moran Award for Craft Writing

1964 portrait of Lois Moran

Lois Moran, 1964. Photo courtesy of the ACC Library & Archives.

About the Lois Moran Award for Craft Writing
– $3,000 in Juried Awards –

The longest-serving editor of American Craft magazine and a monumental figure in the history of the American Craft Council, Lois Moran was a tireless proponent of the field of American craft. She had a mission to elevate the importance of craft for a broad audience. The ACC seeks nominations annually for an award in her name recognizing the work of writers committed to moving the craft conversation forward.

Deadline for nominations/submissions:
June 30, 2022

Click the link below to nominate or submit an article or essay for consideration.

Nominate Here


  • The award will be given for a thoughtfully-written and dynamic individual article or essay on some aspect of American craft.
  • Entries should be no more than 5,000 words.
  • Please submit work in English only.
  • Eligible articles and essays must have been published on a public platform (print or digital) between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2022.
  • Entries may have first appeared in craft publications, general interest magazines, newspapers, online publications, blogs, as stand-alone essays in books, etc.
  • Full-length books and academic papers are not eligible, nor are articles that have appeared in American Craft or on the ACC website.
  • Deadline for nominations is June 30, 2022 (midnight Central Standard Time).
  • There is no entry fee.
  • International applicants are welcome as long as the writing addresses American craft.
2008 portrait of Lois Moran

Lois Moran, ca. 2008. Photo by Paul Smith.

We do not discriminate on the basis of age, ancestry, disability, family status, gender identity or expression, national origin, race, religion, sex or sexual orientation, or for any other reason.

Make a donation in support of this award

Your gift in honor of Lois will enable us to continue recognizing excellent writers in the craft field through this award for years to come.