2019 American Craft Show in Atlanta Awards of Excellence

2019 American Craft Show in Atlanta Awards of Excellence

2019 American Craft Show in Atlanta Awards of Excellence

Winners of the American Craft Show in Atlanta Awards of Excellence celebrate with jurors, staff, and the Black Sheep Ensemble.

Elizabeth Ryan

The Awards of Excellence, a tradition established at the start of the American Craft Shows, recognize show artists working in a variety of ways. This year we jazzed up our presentation with a short performance by a local Atlanta street band the Black Sheep Ensemble.

From a pool of more than 230 incredibly talented makers, six were honored with awards in a variety of categories at our 2019 American Craft Show in Atlanta.

Awards were given to metal artist Jim Cohen (booth 1108), whose work celebrates the deep roots of Judaica culture and the tradition of material, and Hannah Beatrice Quinn (booth 308), who uses recycled and found materials to create beautiful handmade brooms and furniture.

For both work and booth presentation, Daiga Henson (booth 900) stood out due to her welcoming personality, boldly colorful work, and incredible story.

Jeweler and new ACC artist Tabitha Ott (booth 915-6) won the Award of Excellence for an emerging artist as part of our Hip Pop program. Ott’s funky work is a fresh perspective on precious materials.

We also partnered with two local media-based organizations to recognize artists working in fiber and wood. Selections were made by Suzi Gough, executive director of the Southeast Fiber Arts Alliance, and Steve and Linda Pritchard representing the Georgia Association of Woodturners. Congratulations to woodworker Jason Ruel Martin (booth 1116), the recipient of the Award of Excellence in Wood, and fiber artist Charlotte Friese (booth 411), who received the Award of Excellence in Fiber.

Thanks to our wonderful partner organizations for their time and support of the show Awards of Excellence and to our jurors and ACC trustees: Jean McLaughlin, retired director of the Penland School of Craft and Harriett Green, program director for visual arts for the South Carolina Arts Commission.

Congratulations to all of our recipients!