

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Program Contact Michael Radyk Director of Education (612) 206-3128 mradyk@craftcouncil.org Press Contact Pamela Diamond Director of Marketing (612) 206-3121 pdiamond@craftcouncil.org

AMERICAN CRAFT COUNCIL ANNOUNCES 2018 AWARDS

Biennial awards honor contributions to the arts, philanthropy, and scholarship

Minneapolis, MN - August 22, 2018 - The American Craft Council is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 American Craft Council Awards. The biennial ACC Awards include the College of Fellows, the Gold Medal for Consummate Craftsmanship, the Award of Distinction, and the Aileen Osborn Webb Award for Philanthropy.

This year's honorees will be celebrated during a ceremony and reception on October 6 at the Minneapolis Institute of Art. Tickets will be available starting August 24 at <u>craftcouncil.org/events</u>.

2018 RECIPIENTS

Gold Medal for Consummate Craftsmanship

Jun Kaneko (Omaha, Nebraska)

Fellows

Mark Burns (Arlington, Massachusetts) Thomas Gentille (New York City, New York) Thomas Hucker (Hoboken, New Jersey) Mary Jackson (Johns Island, South Carolina) Beth Lipman (Sheboygan, Wisconsin) Consuelo Jimenez Underwood (Cupertino, California)

Honorary Fellows

Susan Cummins (Tiburon, California) Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada (Berkeley, California) Award of Distinction Contemporary Craft (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

Aileen Osborn Webb Award for Philanthropy

Marlin Miller (Reading, Pennsylvania)

ABOUT THE HONOREES

Jun Kaneko is an internationally recognized sculptor, educator, and ACC Fellow. ACC's awards committee chair Bruce W. Pepich said:

"Kaneko is a master, pure and simple. For these reasons, and for a large number of other significant accomplishments, he was the unanimous choice. The committee's membership represents some of the top artists working in all media and craft practices. The level of respect and admiration for Kaneko's work is intense and comes from throughout the contemporary craft field. The committee members and I are delighted to call attention to Kaneko's vision, accomplishments, and the best kinds of career practices, as an example for other artists working today."

Mark Burns is the former head of ceramics and chair of department at University of Nevada. He works innovatively through the use of ceramic history, pop culture, figurative sculpture, and complex expressions of sexuality and identity.

Thomas Gentille is a jeweler and master of innovative materials and he's represented by nine pieces in the permanent collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Thomas Hucker is a furniture designer and master woodworker who taught at Indiana State University and the Appalachian Center for Craft.

Mary Jackson is a Charleston-based basketmaker using sweetgrass originating from West African traditions.

Beth Lipman is a glass artist known for her innovative installations and sculptural compositions referencing Baroque and Renaissance still-life painting.

Conseulo Jimenez Underwood is a textile artist who creates large scale fiber art wall works and installations.

Susan Cummins is a writer, gallery owner, art historian. She's the founder of Art Jewelry Forum and a former ACC trustee.

Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada is the author of two important texts on Shibori. She's a curator, an internationally recognized textile artist, and the founder of Slow Fibers Studio.

Contemporary Craft (formerly the Society for Contemporary Craft) is located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and it was established in 1971. Its mission is to engage the public in creative experiences though contemporary craft.

Marlin Miller is a Life Trustee of the American Craft Council. He is a passionate supporter of the arts and co-founded GoggleWorks Center for the Arts in Reading, Pennsylvania.

ABOUT THE ACC AWARDS

Presented biennially, the ACC Awards honor outstanding artistic and scholarly achievement, leadership, and service in the field of craft.

The Council has bestowed the title of Fellow to artists and other individuals in the field (such as scholars, curators, and critics) since 1975. Candidates for this prestigious honor are nominated and elected by their peers. To be eligible, individuals must demonstrate extraordinary ability and must have worked for 25 years or more in the discipline or career in which they are recognized.

The Gold Medal for Consummate Craftsmanship is the Council's highest honor. Awarded only to a previously elected Fellow, the Gold Medal recognizes outstanding artistry, along with the humanistic and philosophical values exemplified over the span of a career.

The Aileen Osborn Webb Award for Philanthropy honors exceptional contributions to and support of the field of craft, while the Award of Distinction recognizes an individual, organization, or institution that has made significant contributions to the field over a minimum of 25 years.

Visit craftcouncil.org/about-acc/acc-awards for further award information.

ABOUT ACC

No one understands the world of artful living better than the American Craft Council. The national, nonprofit educational organization has been shaping the artisanal craft movement for decades, serving as a craft chronicler, tastemaker, convener, and provocateur through its magazine American Craft, annual juried shows presenting artists and their work, thought leadership conferences, awards for excellence, and research library. Learn more at craftcouncil.org.