Meet ACC's New Executive Director

Meet ACC's New Executive Director

Get to know ACC’s new executive director, Andrea Specht, in conversation with Preeti Gopinath.

Wednesday, August 17, 2022, via Zoom
1 p.m. PT | 2 p.m. MT | 3 p.m. CT | 4 p.m. ET

Andrea Specht arrived at ACC in May, just in time for the return of our flagship craft marketplace, American Craft Made / Baltimore. She has spent the summer meeting a variety of stakeholders within and outside our organization and is energized by the opportunities for ACC—founded nearly 85 years ago—to advance and serve American craft.

Andrea will talk about those opportunities and more with ACC Trustee Preeti Gopinath, director of MFA Textiles and associate professor at the School of Fashion, Parsons, The New School.

portrait of andrea specht

Register for this Online Conversation

Fill out my online form.

About Our Speakers

Andrea Specht discovered her passion for the visual arts in childhood and earned a BA in Studio Art from Macalester College. Since then, she has focused her career in the nonprofit sector, advancing causes that range from youth development and gender equity to the arts and higher education. Andrea took the helm at ACC in 2022 after serving as the vice president of advancement and foundation executive director at Normandale Community College, and before that, as the executive director of Artistry, a multidisciplinary arts organization reaching more than 85,000 people annually through professional theater productions, visual arts exhibitions, community-based arts education, and creative placemaking projects. Andrea has served as a board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, the College of Visual Arts, and numerous other nonprofit organizations, and she holds a JD from the University of St. Thomas School of Law. Her interests include cooking and baking, plants and gardens, and spending time in the woods of northwest Wisconsin.

Preeti Gopinath is associate professor and founding director of the Textiles MFA program at Parsons, The New School, in New York. A graduate of the five-year Professional Education Program of the National Institute of Design (India), Preeti is an internationally experienced textile designer, CAD expert and an acclaimed educator with over 25 years of international experience in both industry and the classroom. She is also a Bharatanatyam dancer and a philosopher with a special interest in Plato and Vedanta studies, all of which inform her career and that she seamlessly integrates into her life.

portrait of preeti gopinath
stack of four issues of american craft with the spring 2022 issue on top

Help Make Our Programming Possible as a Member

Join the American Craft Council to receive a subscription to our magazine and help support a range of nonprofit programs that strengthen our community and connect people to craft.

Join To Provide Support