Lois Moran Award for Craft Writing

Lois Moran Award for Craft Writing

1964 portrait of Lois Moran

Lois Moran, 1964. Photo courtesy of the ACC Library & Archives.

2021 Lois Moran Award for Craft Writing
$3,000 Juried Award

The longest-serving editor of American Craft magazine and a monumental figure in the history of the American Craft Council, Lois Moran was a tireless proponent of the field of American craft. She had a mission to elevate the importance of craft for a broad audience. The ACC is now seeking nominations for an award in her name recognizing the work of writers committed to moving the craft conversation forward.

The jurors for this award, which will be given in Fall 2021, are Glenn Adamson, Indira Allegra, and Rachael Arauz. Read more about our jurors below.

Nominations are currently closed

The deadline for nominations and submissions for 2021 was June 30, 2021.


  • The award will be given for a thoughtfully-written and dynamic individual article or essay on some aspect of American craft.
  • Entries should be no more than 5,000 words.
  • Please submit work in English only.
  • Eligible articles and essays must have been previously published on a public platform (print or digital) between January 1, 2020, and June 30, 2021.
  • Entries may have first appeared in craft publications, general interest magazines, newspapers, online publications, blogs, as stand-alone essays in books, etc.
  • Full-length books and academic papers are not eligible, nor are articles that have appeared in American Craft or on the ACC website.
  • Deadline for nominations is June 30, 2021 (midnight Central Standard Time).
  • There is no entry fee.
  • International applicants are welcome as long as the writing addresses American craft.
2008 portrait of Lois Moran

Lois Moran, ca. 2008. Photo by Paul Smith.

We do not discriminate on the basis of age, ancestry, disability, family status, gender identity or expression, national origin, race, religion, sex or sexual orientation, or for any other reason.

Meet Our Award Jurors

Portrait of Glenn Adamson

Glenn Adamson is a curator, writer, and historian based in New York. He has previously been director of the Museum of Arts and Design, head of research at the V&A, and curator at the Chipstone Foundation in Milwaukee. Adamson’s publications include Thinking Through Craft (2007), The Craft Reader (2010), Postmodernism: Style and Subversion (2011, co-edited with Jane Pavitt), The Invention of Craft (2013); Art in the Making (2016, co-authored with Julia Bryan-Wilson), and Fewer Better Things: The Hidden Wisdom of Objects (2018). His newest book is Craft: An American History, published by Bloomsbury, and he is co-host of the online interview series Design in Dialogue. Portrait courtesy of John Michael Kohler Arts Center. glennadamson.com

Portrait of Indira Allegra

Indira Allegra explores memorial as a genre and vital part of the human experience. Deeply informed by the ritual, relational, and performative aspects of weaving, Allegra explores the repetitive crossing of forces held under tension, be they material, social, or emotional. A leader in the performative craft movement, Allegra was winner of the 2019/2020 Burke Prize. They are a YBCA 100 Honoree, Fleishhacker Eureka Fellow, Lucas Artist Fellow, Lambda Literary Fellow, and part of ARTFORUM International’s “Best of 2020.” Portrait courtesy of the artist. indiraallegra.com

Portrait of Rachael Arauz

M. Rachael Arauz is an independent curator of modern and contemporary art, with a PhD in art history from the University of Pennsylvania. Past exhibition and publication topics have included mid-century abstraction, Mexican photography, language and text in contemporary art, non-figurative portraiture, sound sculpture, and weaving. She has organized exhibitions and contributed to museum catalogues in the United States, Mexico, and Europe. Arauz was co-curator of the 2019 exhibition In the Vanguard: Haystack Mountain School of Crafts, 1950–1969 for the Portland Museum of Art, Maine. Portrait courtesy of the artist. @rachaelcurator

Make a donation in support of this award

Your gift in honor of Lois will enable us to continue recognizing excellent writers in the craft field through this award for years to come.