Announcing the 2018 ACC Awards Recipients

Announcing the 2018 ACC Awards Recipients

Jun Kaneko, Untitled Heads, 2011

Jun Kaneko is known for the massive scale of his work and installations as well as for exploring a range of mediums. Untitled Heads, 2011, bronze, steel, 74 x 33.25 x 29 in. (left) and 74 x 31 x 29 in. (right)

Colin Conces

The American Craft Council is proud to announce the recipients of the 2018 American Craft Council Awards. The ACC Awards include the Gold Medal for Consummate Craftsmanship, the College of Fellows, the Award of Distinction, and the Aileen Osborn Webb Award for Philanthropy.

Since 1975, the ACC has recognized individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the craft field in America by awarding the distinction of Fellow of the Council, known collectively as the College of Fellows. Honorees must demonstrate leadership in the field, outstanding ability as an artist, and/or educator, and 25 years or more of professional achievement as an American craftsperson. Awardees, including the Gold Medalist, are nominated by the active College of Fellows and selected by a committee of their peers – just one of many reasons why this honor is so meaningful. The Award of Distinction and the Aileen Osborn Webb Award for Philanthropy are selected by ACC's board of trustees.

This year one Gold Medalist, six Fellows, and two Honorary Fellows have been selected by the ACC Awards sub-committee. We formally present our 2018 honorees:

Gold Medal for Consummate Craftsmanship
Jun Kaneko (Omaha, Nebraska)

Mark Burns (Arlington, Massachusetts)
Thomas Gentille (New York City, New York)
Thomas Hucker (Hoboken, New Jersey)
Mary Jackson (Johns Island, South Carolina)
Beth Lipman (Sheboygan, Wisconsin)
Consuelo Jimenez Underwood (Cupertino, California)

Honorary Fellows
Susan Cummins (Tiburon, California)
Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada (Berkeley, California)

Award of Distinction
Contemporary Craft (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

Aileen Osborn Webb Award for Philanthropy
Marlin Miller (Reading, Pennsylvania)

Thank you to the ACC Awards sub-committee members: William Carlson, Sharon Church, Myra Mimlitsch-Gray, Tom Loeser, Lois Moran, Tina Oldknow, Bruce W. Pepich (chair), Warren Seelig, and Mary Ann "Toots" Zynsky.

The ACC extends its heartfelt congratulations to these amazing individuals and organization. We are pleased to recognize your incomparable work and efforts in the field. The 2018 award recipients will be honored during an awards ceremony on October 6, 2018 at the Minneapolis Institute of Art.

Learn more in this press release.