2015 ACC Atlanta Awards of Excellence

2015 ACC Atlanta Awards of Excellence

Atlanta 2015 Hambidge Center Residency Award of Excellence

From left to right: artist Lisa Klakulak, Hambidge Center executive director Jamie Badoud, ACC Award of Excellence juror Jess Jones, and ACC executive director Chris Amundsen

A rainy start to the 2015 American Craft Council Atlanta show did nothing to deter the crowds, who came out in full force to support the cadre of more than 225 talented established and emerging artists, from across the nation, whose works are on display March 13 - 15. In addition to shopping some of the best handmade objects, visitors are enjoying multiple interactive educational programs throughout the weekend.   

On Friday, our programming included the Awards of Excellence, an American Craft Council show tradition that has been around since before the first Atlanta show. For the awards, a juror has the great responsibility of selecting four awards: three for quality of work and one for booth design. A fifth award, the Hambidge Residency Award, is also selected by the juror. It's presented in conjunction with the Hambidge Center for the Creative Arts and Sciences and highlights an artist whose work connects to the natural environment. It allows the awardee to spend a two-week residency at Hambidge to further develop his or her work.

This year, the trustees of the Council are pleased to recognize one of our emerging show artists exhibiting as part of the inaugural Hip Pop program. With the exception of the Hambidge award, all award winners are invited to participate in next year's ACC show and receive a cash prize.

This year's juror in Atlanta was Jess Jones, assistant professor and area coordinator of textiles at Georgia State University. Jones is a talented fiber artist, who has also studied book arts, box-building, and papermaking. Her work has been exhibited nationally and is currently on view as part of “Intertwined: Contemporary Southeastern Fiber Art,” a juried exhibition conceived by the Southeast Fiber Art Alliance and traveling to multiple Georgia galleries through fall 2015.

For the HipPop Emerging Artist Award of Excellence, the jurors were ACC trustees Barbara Berlin of Potomac, Maryland, and Chuck Duddingston of Minneapolis, Minnesota. 

Below is a listing of the extraordinary artists who received the 2015 Atlanta Awards of Excellence:

Awards of Excellence
Vicki Essig, Fiber - Decorative
Brandon Holschuh, Jewelry - Metal
David Stine, Furniture & Lighting

Awards of Excellence - Booth Design
Barbara Zaretsky, Fiber - Decorative

Hambidge Residency Award
Lisa Klakulak, Fashion - Accessories

Awards of Excellence – HipPop Emerging Artist Award
Jocelyn Krodman, Fiber - Decorative

We extend our heartfelt appreciation to Jess Jones, Barbara Berlin, and Chuck Duddingston for lending their knowledge of craft and keen eyes for design to the jurying process. Congratulations to all the excellent award winners, and a sincere thanks to all the artists and attendees for making the show a truly remarkable experience.